He who knows how to appreciate colour relationships, the influence of one colour on another, their contrasts and dissonances, is promised an infinitely diverse imagery.
- Sonia Delaunay
Colour is my day-long obsession, joy and torment.
- Colour is my day-long obsession, joy and torment.
 

 

Thursday, September 2, 2010

Mark Summers (update)

Posted by Charley Parker at 11:16 am

Mark Summers
I have long been fascinated by pen and ink drawing, and its mirror world cousin, scratchboard.

Both are demanding mediums, but scratchboard is additionally difficult in that the unfamiliarity of working by subtraction rather than addition takes some practice, as well a mental shift (in common with some printmaking techniques); but the rewards are a kind of textural quality and visual appeal unlike any other medium.

There are some excellent contemporary scratchboard artists carrying forward the tradition; perhaps the best known and most accomplished of which is Canadian illustrator Mark Summers.

Summers combines superb draftsmanship, a talent for whimsey and humorous exaggeration and a knack for likenesses, both contemporary and historic, with a flair that have made his unique illustrations in demand and a common sight for readers of Time, Rolling Stone, The Atlantic Monthly, Sports Illustrated, The New York Times Book Review and numerous other publications and a range of book publishers an corporate clients.

He has received awards form the Society of Illustrators and been featured in juried shows, collections and publications like Step by Step Graphics, Communication Arts, Print and Applied Arts.

If you are a book lover, you may in remember his wonderful series of literary portraits that were prominent in Barnes and Noble bookstores a few years ago (I particularly loved his portrayals of Edgar Allan Poe).

Summers was born in Ontario and studied a the Ontario College of Art. He was introduced to scratchboard by Duncan Macpherson, an editorial cartoonist who drew for the Montreal Standard and the Toronto Star.

Summers doesn’t have a dedicated website, but since I last wrote about him in 2007, a new resource for viewing his art has become available. In addition to the portfolio on the site of his artist’s representative, Richard Solomon, and his portfolio on The iSpot, he now has a presence on the relatively new Behance Network.

In the latter you will find a section of delightfully Wicked Portraits, with Summers’ portrayals of notorious heavies from history, such as Edward VII (image above, top), in the company of such cheery chums as Torquemada, Rasputin, Genghis Kahn and Atilla the Hun.

In these and many of his recent illustrations, he enlivens his scratchboard drawings with tones of watercolor and sometimes oil glazes. There is a step through and description of his working process on the Richard Solomon site, and the same process is also shown a little larger at the bottom of this page on the Behance site. In addition, Summers has left a few replies to comments on my earlier post about his work with answers to questions about his technique.

Summers’ illustrations are featured in a new book, Vanity Fair’s Presidential Profiles: Defining Portraits, Deeds, and Misdeeds of 43 Notable Americans–And What Each One Really Thought About His Predecessor.

Posted in: IllustrationPen & Ink   |   6 Comments »

6 comments for Mark Summers (update) »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Comment by Dave Dubé
    Thursday, September 2, 2010 @ 12:07 pm

    I have never tried scratchboard, but this fellow’s art makes me drool.

  2. Comment by GFXBD
    Thursday, September 2, 2010 @ 1:41 pm

    The illustration pictures using scratch board are very eye catching. I feel lucky to find this post. And I have put these pictures in my collection.

  3. Comment by remichaye
    Friday, September 3, 2010 @ 1:13 am

    Thank you for your blog. I check it regularly and I like it.

  4. Comment by article submission uk
    Friday, September 3, 2010 @ 8:41 am

    That top picture is weirdly hilarious! How odddd!
    Great pictures!

  5. Comment by Valentino
    Sunday, September 5, 2010 @ 9:26 am

    Scratchboard is a fascinating medium in the hand of a skilled artist, and Mark Summers is certainly one. Speaking of which, Patrick Arrasmith is also an awesome scratchboard artist.
    http://www.patrickarrasmith.com/

  6. Comment by Charley Parker
    Sunday, September 5, 2010 @ 10:57 am

    Thanks, Valentino.

    For the benefit of other readers, here is my post from 2008 on Patrick Arrasmith.

Leave a comment

(required)

(required but not published)

 
Display Ads on Lines and Colors (1st tier): $25/week or $75/month.

Please note that display ads for lines and colors are limited to arts related topics and may not be animated.
Display Ads on Lines and Colors (2nd tier): $20/week or $65/month.

Please note that display ads for lines and colors are limited to arts related topics and may not be animated.




Donate Life

The Gift of a Lifetime