He who knows how to appreciate colour relationships, the influence of one colour on another, their contrasts and dissonances, is promised an infinitely diverse imagery.
- Sonia Delaunay
Colour is my day-long obsession, joy and torment.
- Colour is my day-long obsession, joy and torment.
 

 

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

William Timlin

Posted by Charley Parker at 11:57 pm

William Timlin, The Ship that Sailed to Mars
William M. Timlin was an English architect, illustrator and painter who spent most of his life in South Africa.

In addition to his gallery art and periodical illustrations, Timlin wrote and illustrated a personal book project, originally intended for his son, titled The Ship that Sailed to Mars.

Timlin worked on the project for two years, and it was eventually published in an edition that included his hand-lettered text rather than being typeset with 48 pages of text and 48 color plates of Timlin’s illustrations.

The book became something of a classic; it’s fantastical illustrations somewhat in the vein of Edmund Dulac and Arthur Rackham.

You can now find reproductions of the illustrations on the internet, as well as the entire story on the Internet Archive (though not with Timlin’s hand lettered text).

[Via @BibliOdyssey]

Posted in: Illustration   |   1 Comment »

1 comment for William Timlin »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Comment by Ælle
    Thursday, June 6, 2013 @ 8:32 am

    http://www.bkkbooks.com/image/Timlin-Ship-Sailed-to-Mars-1st-edition.jpg
    Timlin William M. The Ship that Sailed to Mars A Fantasy.
    Published: London: George G. Harrap & Company Limited. n.d. (1923)
    Binding: Vellum Spine over Grey Paper Boards
    Edition: First Edition (one of only 2000 copies)
    Price: U.S.$1,500 SOLD!

Leave a comment

(required)

(required but not published)

 
Display Ads on Lines and Colors (1st tier): $25/week or $75/month.

Please note that display ads for lines and colors are limited to arts related topics and may not be animated.
Display Ads on Lines and Colors (2nd tier): $20/week or $65/month.

Please note that display ads for lines and colors are limited to arts related topics and may not be animated.




Donate Life

The Gift of a Lifetime